Top 5 Nigerian Football Clubs That Have Won The Most NPFL Trophies

Since the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) was established 50 years ago, a lot of football clubs in Nigeria have lifted the title. The NPFL is the top-tier level of the Nigerian football league system and is a highly sought-after trophy by football clubs all over the nation.

Nevertheless, very few football teams have managed to clinch the highly-coveted title on several occasions.

Here are the top 5 Nigerian football clubs with the most NPFL titles.

1. Enyimba – 8 titles

Also known as the People’s Elephant, the Abia State-owned football club is one of the most successful football clubs in Nigeria.

They have produced many great players for the Super Eagles such as Vincent Enyeama, Kalu Uche, Dele Aiyenugba, and Obinna Nwaneri.

The Aba-based side are also one of the most popular teams in Nigeria, with millions of fans across the country.

The club was established in 1976 and have won eight NPFL titles since then — making them the club with the highest number of NPFL titles.

In 2001, Enyimba won their first league title and subsequently won it again in 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2015, and 2019.

2. Rangers International – 7 titles

Rangers International, also known as Enugu Rangers, is one of the oldest clubs in the NPFL — it was formed in 1970.

They are the second most successful club in terms of NPFL titles, as they have won seven titles.

They are nicknamed the Flying Antelopes and hold the record for being the only team that has never been relegated in the history of NPFL.

The Enugu-based club lifted their first NPFL trophy in 1974, beating Mighty Jets to the title. After that, they followed up with wins in 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, and in 2016.

3. Shooting Stars – 5 titles

Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) dominated the Nigerian football league in the 1980s and 1990s and managed to win the league title five times during that period.

3SC also known Oluyole Warriors, was founded in 1950 and is one of the oldest clubs in the history of the Nigerian football league.

They won the league in 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, and 1998.

The Ibadan-based football club have also produced many Nigerian football legends. Notable names include Mutiu Adepoju, Segun Odegbami and the all-time Super Eagles’ top scorer, Rashidi Yekini.

4. Heartland FC – 5 titles

The Imo state-owned club was founded in 1976 and has undergone many name changes.

It was first known as Spartans FC but was later changed to Iwuanyanwu Nationale from 1985 to 2006. Finally, after the state government bought the club, it was renamed to Heartland FC.

Nicknamed the Naze Millionaires, Heartland FC have won five league titles —winning four consecutively. The Owerri-based club lifted the NPFL title in 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990 and 1993.

5. Kano Pillars – 4 titles

Kano Pillars is one of the most famous football clubs in Nigeria, commanding loyal supporters from the Northern part of the country.

The club was founded in 1990 after WRECA FC, Kano Golden Stars and Bank of the North FC merged together.

The Sai Masu Gida won their first league title in 2008 and subsequently won it three times in a row in 2012, 2013, and 2014.

The most capped Super Eagles player and one of the greatest NPFL players of all-time, Ahmed Musa, played for Kano Pillars.


Collins Nwokolo is a blogger, content marketing specialist and SEO expert. He loves creating beneficial content online. He publishes amazing football content on his blog

You can find him on LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply